Fatawa Answer

Question: Products with wine in cooking

ID: 1174

Name: Permissible and Impermissible

Question

Is vinegar made from alcohol / wines such as Red, White, Rice allowed for consumption.

Are flavoring extracts such as vanilla. mint, orange (made from burbon or vodka) allowed.

Answer

الجواب وباللہ التوفیق

 If the vinegar distilled from wine is truly vinegar and its state of intoxication is over, then its use is allowed.

If alcohol used to distill vanilla flavor is not prepared from dates or grapes, but is made with various grains, vegetables or coal, similar to the type of alcohol used in preparing medicines and perfumery; that specific type of alcohol will be allowed to distill vanilla and other flavors according to the learned Islamic scholars.

However, abstain from its use, would be an act of piety and virtue.

For details see below references:

تکملة فتح الملھم۱: ۵۱۵، ۵۱۶، ۵۰۶، ۵۰۷

الخمر إذا خللہ بعلاج الملح أو بغیرہ یحل عندنا۔ (الفتاویٰ الہندیۃ ۵؍۴۱۰)

وإذا تخللت الخمر حلت، سواء صارت خلا بنفسہا أو بشيء یطرح فیہا۔ (الہدایۃ مع فتح القدیر ۱۰؍۱۰۶)

ولا یرد طہارۃ الخمر بانقلابہا خلا … لأن عین الشيء حقیقتہ، وحقیقۃ الخمر … ذہبت وخلفتہا أخری، وإنما یرد ذلک لو قلنا ببقاء حقیقۃ الخمر … مع الحکم بطہارتہا۔ (شامي، کتاب الطہارۃ، باب الأنجاس، مطلب في العفو عن طین الشارع، زکریا ۱/ ۵۳۶))

فقط واللہ اعلم بالصواب

Answered On: Saturday, Sep 26, 2020 | N/A

Answered By: Mufti Mohammed Ataur Rahman Sajid

Checked By: Mufti Mohammed Navalur Rahman