Saturday | 02 March 2024 | 21 Shabaan 1445

Fatwa Answer

Question ID: 1753 Category: Permissible and Impermissible
Enzyme “Rennent” halal or not?

AoA

My name is Hasan and I am the resident of Virginia, USA. I just wanted to confirm if enzyme which is present in Milk, and all other dairy products, also in some snacks and candies, the name of enzyme is Rennent. I wanted to know that if it is halal or not. This same enzyme is present in Doritos and Scan Halal is saying it's not halal but in milk this same enzyme is there but Scan Halal is saying it is halal. Please guide and assist.

I am looking forward to hearing from you.

Thank you.

Regards,

Hasan Dibaji.

بسم اللہ الرحمٰن الرحیم

:الجواب وباللہ التوفیق

The rennet made from plants or extracted from an animal slaughtered in a Shariah manner is pure. If the “”ma’kul al-laham” animals(animals whose meat is allowed to eat) were not slaughtered according to the Shariah method, there is a difference of opinion about their purity, but the prevailing opinion is that it  is pure. Similarly, if it is mixed in something, it will also be halal as long as other impure, and dead things are not mixed in it. 

If the rennet (infaha) is obtained from pigs, it is forbidden.

عَنِ ابْنِ عُمَرَ، قالَ: «أُتِيَ النَّبِيُّ ﷺ بِجُبْنَةٍ فِي تَبُوكَ، فَدَعا بِسِكِّينٍ، فَسَمّى وقَطَعَ»(سنن ابی داود:3819)

عَنِ ابْنِ عَبّاسٍ، قالَ: أُتِيَ النَّبِيُّ ﷺ بِجُبْنَةٍ فِي غَزاةٍ، فَقالَ: «أيْنَ صُنِعَتْ هَذِهِ؟» فَقالُوا: بِفارِسَ، ونَحْنُ نُرى أنَّهُ يُجْعَلُ فِيها مَيْتَةً. فَقالَ: «اطْعَنُوا فِيها بِالسِّكِّينِ، واذْكُرُوا اسْمَ اللَّهِ وكُلُوا»(عوغر مءعر:2755)

وشَعْرُ المَيْتَةِ) غَيْرُ الخِنْزِيرِ عَلى المَذْهَبِ (وعَظْمُها وعَصَبُها) عَلى المَشْهُورِ (وحافِرُها وقَرْنُها) الخالِيَةُ عَنْ الدُّسُومَةِ وكَذا كُلُّ ما لا تُحِلُّهُ الحَياةُ حَتّى الإنْفَحَةُ واللَّبَنُ عَلى الرّاجِحِ(الدر مع الرد:۱/۲۰۶ )

وكَذا الإنْفَحَةُ هُوَ المُخْتارُ. وعِنْدَهُما يَتَنَجَّسُ، وهُوَ الِاحْتِياطُ(رد المحتار: ۱/۳۴۹)

فقط واللہ اعلم بالصواب