Sunday | 20 January 2019 | 13 Jamadiul-Awal 1440

Fatwa Answer

Question ID: 196 Category: Permissible and Impermissible
Status of Animals Slaughtered by Alhay-Kitab

Assalaam Alaikum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuhu

As mentioned in Surah al-Maidah, we can eat the meat that is slaughtered by Christians and Jews, is that correct in this era? If not then what’s the proof against it?

JazakAllahu Khaira

الجواب وباللہ التوفیق 

The Ahlay-Kitab (Jews and Christians), who are steadfast on the teachings of their religion, believe in the books revealed by Allah Subhanahu Wa Ta'ala, are not just proponents of science and astronomy, do not take the name of anyone besides Allah on their slaughter, only take the name of Allah while performing the slaughter, then the slaughter of such ahlay-kitab will be considered halal. However, Imam Ibn-e-Humam Rehmatullah 'Aleh has written that without a dire need, it is preferable not to consume their zabihah. (Shamee, Vol.5, Pg.258, Fathul-Qadeer)

The Jews and Christians of this era, although from a categorization and census standpoint, they are considered Jews and Christians but a vast majority of them are openly agnostic, atheist, religion-less, pure proponents of science and astronomy and thus considered ahlay-kitab just nominally. This vast majority does not have any interest in religion or religious teachings rather a lot of them fundamentally despise religion. In addition, regarding the Christians of Banee-Taghlab, Hazrat ‘Ali RaziAllah Ta‘ala ‘Anhu mentioned:

لا تاکلوا من ذبائح نصاریٰ بنی تغلب فانھم لم یتمسکو ا من النصرانیۃ بشی الا شربھم الخمر ، روی ابن الجوزی بسندہ عن علی رضی اﷲ عنہ ۔

ورواہ لشافعی رحمہ الہ بسند صحیح عنہ تفسیر مظھری ج ۳ ص۳۴)

Imam ash-Shaf‘ai Rehmatullah ‘Aleh has also documented this riwayat from Hazrat ‘Ali RaziAllah Ta‘ala ‘Anhu and has further qualified that those people (i.e. Banee-Taghlab) did not subscribe to any teachings of Christianity except for indulging in the consumption of alcohol. In addition, when Hazrat ‘Ali RaziAllah Ta‘ala ‘Anhu observed the moral corruption of the people of Banee-Taghlab, he rendered their zabihah as haram during that time. Considering the moral situation and corruption of people in general in today’s era which is so much worse, how can they be considered ahlay-ktaib and how can their zabihah be accepted as halal?

The issue of consuming halal meat is of extreme importance and until there is complete proof and surety that it is halal, it is considered impermissible to consume it. Therefore, it is mandatory for us to refrain from things which are mustabeh (suspicious) and thus refrain from their zabihah entirely.

(Fatawah Darululoom, Vol.1,2, Pg.160)

وقال اﷲ تعالیٰ: وَطَعَامُ الَّذِیْنَ اُوْتُوْا الْکِتَابَ حِلٌّ لَکُمْ۔ [سورۃ المائدۃ، رقم الآیۃ: ۵]

کل من یعتقد دینا سماویا، ولہ کتاب منزل کصحف إبراہیم علیہ السلام وشیث، وزبور داؤد فہو من أہل الکتاب، فتجوز مناکحتم وأکل ذبائحہم۔

(ہندیۃ، کتاب النکاح، القسم السابع: المحرمات بالشرک، ۱/ ۳۴۷)

فقط واللہ اعلم بالصواب

Question ID: 196 Category: Permissible and Impermissible
اہل کتاب کے ذبیحہ کا حکم

سورہ مائدہ کی وہ آیت جس میں یہ کہا  گیا ہے کہ ہم عیسائیوں اور یہودیوں کا ذبح کردہ گوشت کھا سکتے ہیں ، کیا  آج کے دور میں یہ بات صحیح ہے؟ اگر نہیں تو اس کی کیا دلیل ہے؟جزاک اللہ خیرا

 

الجواب وباللہ التوفیق

جو اہلِ کتاب (یہود ونصاریٰ) اپنے مذہب پر قائم ہوں ، آسمانی کتاب کو مانتے ہوں، سائنس پرست اورنجوم پرست نہ ہوں،، ذبیحہ پر غیر اﷲ کا نام نہ لیتے ہوں بلکہ اللہ کا نام لے کر ذبح کرتے ہوں تو ان کا ذبیحہ حلال ہے، لیکن امام ابن ہمامؒ نے لکھا ہےکہ پھر بھی بغیر کسی سخت مجبوری کے ان کا ذبیحہ نہ کھانا بہتر ہے۔ (شامی ج:۵، ص:۲۵۸ ۔ اور فتح القدیر)

آج کل جو یہودو نصاری ہیں یہ لوگ اگرچہ باعتبار مردم شمار ی یہود ونصاری کہلاتے ہیں لیکن ا ن میں سے اکثر ملحد، بددین ،دہر یہ ، سائنس پرست اور نجوم پرست ہیں صرف برائے نام اہل کتاب ہیں، ان کو مذہب سے بالکل لگا ؤ نہیں بلکہ ان کے اقوال و افعال سے معلوم ہوتا ہے کہ وہ مذہب سے بیزار ہیں، نیزبنی تغلب کے نصاریٰ کےبارے میں حضرت علی کرم اﷲ وجہہ نے فرمایا تھا:

لا تاکلوا من ذبائح نصاریٰ بنی تغلب فانھم لم یتمسکو ا من النصرانیۃ بشی الا شربھم الخمر ، روی ابن الجوزی بسندہ عن علی رضی اﷲ عنہ ۔ ورواہ لشافعی رحمہ الہ بسند صحیح عنہ تفسیر مظھری ج ۳ ص۳۴)

اور امام شافعی ؒ نےبھی سند صحیح کےساتھ یہ روایت حضرت علیؓ سے نقل کی ہے کہ ان کا ذبیحہ حلال نہیں اور اس کی وجہ یہی بتلائی کہ یہ لوگ دین نصرانیت میں سے بجز شراب نوشی کے اور کسی چیز کے قائل نہیں۔ اور پھرحضرت علی کرم اﷲ وجہ نے اپنے زمانہ کی بنی تغلب کے نصاریٰ کے حالات دیکھ کر ان کے ذبیحہ کو حرام فرمایا تھا اور آج کل کے لوگوں کے حالات تو ان سے کئی درجہ بد تر ہیں، جب ان کی یہ حالت ہے تو وہ اہل کتاب کیسے ہوسکتے ہیں ؟ اور ان کے ذبیحہ کو کس طرح حلال کہا جاسکتا ؟

اور پھر گوشت کا مسئلہ بڑا نازک ہے،اور جب تک اس کے حلال ہونے کا یقین نہ ہو اسے کھانے کا بھی حکم نہیں ہے۔ اس لئے ضروری ہے کہ حلال اور غیر مشتبہ چیز کو چھوڑ کر مشتبہ چیز اختیار نہ کی جائے اور ان کے ذبیحہ سے بالکلیہ احتراز کیا جائے۔ (فتاویٰ دارالعلوم ج۱۔۲ ص ۱۶۰)

وقال اﷲ تعالیٰ: وَطَعَامُ الَّذِیْنَ اُوْتُوْا الْکِتَابَ حِلٌّ لَکُمْ۔ [سورۃ المائدۃ، رقم الآیۃ: ۵]

کل من یعتقد دینا سماویا، ولہ کتاب منزل کصحف إبراہیم علیہ السلام وشیث، وزبور داؤد فہو من أہل الکتاب، فتجوز مناکحتم وأکل ذبائحہم۔

(ہندیۃ، کتاب النکاح، القسم السابع: المحرمات بالشرک، ۱/ ۳۴۷)

فقط واللہ اعلم بالصواب